WhatsApp is working on adding a number of new features to its Android operating system based app.
© Carsten Rehder/picture alliance via Getty Images
In the past couple of days, reports have indicated that the Facebook-owned social messaging app is actively working on bringing Dark Theme to its Android based app. Now a new report indicates that the company is planning to add a new feature to its Android app.
According to a report by WABetaInfo, the blog that tracks developments in the popular social messaging app, is working to bring Blocked Contact Notice feature on to its platform. This new feature is not available on WhatsApp Beta for Android as it is still under development.
So what does the new Blocked Contact Notice feature do? Well, the answer is simple. The blogger explains that when users enable the Blocked Contact Notice feature in the apps, everytime they block a contact WhatsApp will show a bubble in the chat window that will give a one-tap access to unblock the contact.
WhatsApp will show the message — “You blocked this contact. Tap to unblock” — that would allow users to unblock them with ease. The blogger says that the company would show a similar message when they decide to unblock a contact.
To maintain privacy and perhaps give users some secrecy, WhatsApp will not notify the contact who has been blocked. This means that the blocked contact will not be explicityly informed that he or she has been blocked in the app.
The only way the blocked contact will get to know if he or she has been blocked is when they won’t see your last seen, profile picture and About section when they access your WhatsApp profiles.
Similarly, WhatsApp is working on adding another feature to its Android app that would group all the blocked contacts together.
The new Grouped Blocked Contact feature will automatically group your blocked contacts list based on a specific criteria which involves grouping all the business contacts in a different section.
One interesting thing about this feature is that users will not have to manually define who their business contacts are, WhatsApp will do this itself. The blocked business contacts will appear under the Businesses section of the Blocked Contact list. This feature is not available publicly yet so don’t panic if you don’t see the changes immediately.